shopping cart

Science in the Summer

GSK Science in the Summer in Pittsburgh

When school is out, science is in! GSK Science in the Summer keeps the learning going for students entering second through sixth grade.

This free, hands-on science education program aims to inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers. This year’s theme, Be an Engineer!, features all-new activities that invite children to play the role of engineers and tackle challenges in electrical, biomedical, environmental, and structural engineering.

In partnership with GSK and The Franklin Institute, Carnegie Science Center is working with 15 local organizations to provide supplies, curriculum, and live virtual learning opportunities.

Registered families from each participating organization’s community will receive activity kits containing supplies, a guide, and access to supplemental videos. These kits can be picked up at the organization via curbside pick-up (walk-up or drive-up). Arrangements can be made if families are unable to pick up their kit from the organization; please contact the organization for more information.

Using the supplies in the activity kit, students will have the opportunity to test out the experiments and learn along with fellow student scientists during live virtual sessions led by a Science on the Road educator. In addition, students can engage with more engineering fun by participating in Who Wants to be an Engineer, an exciting virtual assembly that will be broadcast every Thursday from July 22 through August 19.

Science in the Summer will be offered in partnership with the following locations this year. While most sessions will be held virtually, some organizations may opt for hybrid or in-person sessions. Please contact the participating organizations to register.

Brentwood Public Library
Mon., July 12
Contact: Kristin McCormick, mccormickk2@einetwork.net

Laughlin Memorial Library
Mon., July 12 and Mon., July 26
Contact: Julie Mulcahy, jmulcahy@beaverlibraries.org

Adams Memorial Library
Tues., July 13 and Wed., July 14
Contact: Alexander Miller, alexander.miller@wlnonline.org

C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
Thurs., July 15
Contact: Erin Tobiasz, tobiasze2@einetwork.net

BF Jones Memorial Library
Mon., July 19 and Wed., July 21
Contact: Kristen Janci, kjanci@beaverlibraries.org

Sharpsburg Community Library
Mon., July 19 and Thurs., July 22
Contact: Sara Mariacher, mariachers2@einetwork.net

South Fayette Public Library
Tues., July 20 and Mon., Aug. 2
Contact: Nicole Harding, hardingn@einetwork.net

Bridgeville Library
Tues., July 20 and Mon., July 26
Contact: Karen Verduci, verducik@einetwork.net

CLP Homestead
Wed., July 21 and Thurs., July 22
Contact: Finley Gelsimino, fgelsimino@carnegieofhomestead.org

Neighborhood North Museum of Play
Tues., July 27, Wed., July 28, and Thurs., July 29
Contact: Christine Kroger, christine@neighborhoodnorth.com

Beaver Area Memorial Library
Mon., Aug. 2 and Tues., Aug. 3
Contact: Jennifer Cribbs, jcribbs@beaver.libraries.org

Braddock Library
Tues., Aug. 3 and Wed., Aug. 11
Contact: Mandee Williams, mandee@thebcla.org

Vandergrift Public Library
Wed., Aug. 4 and Thurs., Aug. 5
Contact: Vanessa Groholski, vanessa.groholski@wlnonline.org

Community Library of Allegheny Valley
Mon., Aug. 9 and Wed., Aug. 11
Contact: Sue Wilson, wilson2@einetwork.net

Citizens Library
Tues., Aug. 10
Contact: Megan Brewer, mbrewer@citlib.org

Please note: Registration is limited and will vary by organization. Organizations may limit registration to their patrons/community members.

Science in the Summer™ is sponsored by GSK and administered by the Franklin Institute in partnership with Carnegie Science Center. For more information, please visit www.scienceinthesummer.com opens in a new window.