shopping cart

Science in the Summer

GSK Science in the Summer™ in Pittsburgh

When school is out, science is in! GSK Science in the Summer™ keeps the learning going for students entering second through sixth grade.

This free, hands-on science education program aims to inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers. This year’s theme, Be a Biologist!, features all-new activities that invite children to help solve real-world problems.

In partnership with GSK and The Franklin Institute, Carnegie Science Center is working with 10 local organizations to provide supplies, curriculum, and live virtual learning opportunities.

This year all sessions will be provided at the partner sites, in person. Registered families from each participating organization’s community will receive activity kits containing supplies, a guide, and access to supplemental videos. Science on the Road educators will provide all program supplies to ensure all registered participants will do at least two activities during their session. Additional supplies will be left with the host partner to distribute in a way that best first their community and extant program model.

Science in the Summer will be offered in partnership with the following locations this year. Please contact the participating organizations to register.

C.C. Mellor Memorial Library opens in a new window
Mon., June 27 at 1:30 and 3 pm
Tues., June 28 at 1:30 and 3 pm

Contact: Erin Tobiasz, tobiasze2@einetwork.net
Phone: 412.731.0909

Neighborhood North Museum of Play opens in a new window
Thurs., July 14 at 10 and 11:15 am
Fri., July 15 at 10 and 11:15 am

Contact: Christine Kroger, christine@neighborhoodnorth.com
Phone: 724.513.3570

Bridgeville Public Library opens in a new window
Mon., July 25 at 2 and 3:30 pm
Tues., July 26 at 2 and 3:30 pm

Contact: Karen Verduci, verducik@einetwork.net
Phone: 412.221.3737

B.F. Jones Memorial Library opens in a new window
Wed., July 27 at 12:30 and 2 pm
Thurs., July 28 at 12:30 and 2 pm

Contact: Kristen Janci, kjanci@beaverlibraries.org
Phone: 724.375.2900

Vandergrift Public Library opens in a new window
Tues., Aug. 9 at 5 and 6:15 pm
Wed., Aug. 10 at 5 and 6:15 pm

Contact: Vanessa Groholski and Kelsey Lege, vanessa.groholski@wlnonline.org and kelsey.lege@wlnonline.org
Phone: 724.568.2212

Adams Memorial Library opens in a new window
Wed., July 6 at 1 and 2:30 pm
Thurs., July 7 at 1 and 2:30 pm

Contact: Alexander Miller, alexander.miller@wlnonline.org
Phone: 724.539.1972

Sharpsburg Community Library opens in a new window
Mon., July 11 at Noon and 1:30 pm
Tues., July 12 at Noon and 1:30 pm

Contact: Sara Mariacher, mariachers2@einetwork.net
Phone: 412.781.0783

Citizens Library opens in a new window
Wed., Aug. 3 at 11 am and 1 pm
Thurs., Aug. 4 at 11 am and 1 pm

Contact: Megan Brewer, mbrewer@citlib.org
Phone: 724.222.2400

Brentwood Library opens in a new window
Mon., July 18 at 10 and 11:30 am
Tues., July 19 at 10 and 11:30 am

Contact: Kristin McCormik, mccormickk2@einetwork.net
Phone: 412.882.5694

South Fayette Library opens in a new window
Mon., Aug. 1 at 10 and 11:30 am
Tues., Aug. 2 at 10 and 11:30 am

Contact: Judy Dobies, dobiesj@southfayettelibrary.org
Phone: 412.257.8660

Please note: Registration is limited and will vary by organization. Organizations may limit registration to their patrons/community members.

Science in the Summer™ is sponsored by GSK and administered by the Franklin Institute in partnership with Carnegie Science Center. For more information, please visit www.scienceinthesummer.com opens in a new window.