shopping cart
A man presenting another man with a glass award on a stage

2021 Carnegie Science Award Winners

Established in 1997, Carnegie Science Awards have honored the accomplishments of more than 600 scientists, technologists, educators, business leaders, and organizations who are making a difference in Pittsburgh and beyond.

Winners are chosen by a committee of peers — both past awardees and industry leaders — who selected the most deserving innovators whose contributions have led to significant economic or societal benefit in western Pennsylvania.

Congratulations to our 2021 Carnegie Science Award recipients!

Chairman’s Award

Paul Duprex, PhD opens in a new window, and the University of Pittsburgh Center for Vaccine Research
Presented by Eaton

Most Inspiring Educator

Anna Blake opens in a new window, Elizabeth Forward School and Melissa Unger, South Fayette School District
Presented by Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Best Interdisciplinary Approach to STEM Education

Jessica Hammer, PhD opens in a new window, Carnegie Mellon University
Presented by FedEx

Exemplary Educational/Corporate Collaboration

Kennametal & Binky Sargent opens in a new window
Presented by Duquesne Light Co.

Champion for Sustainability

Richard V. Piacentini and Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens opens in a new window
Presented by Eaton

Champion for STEM Equity

David Piemme and Graig Marx opens in a new window, Design to Make a Difference
Presented by PPG


Samarjit Das, PhD opens in a new window, Bosch Research + Technology Center
Presented by Braskem USA

Corporate Leadership

PPG opens in a new window
Presented by Kennametal Inc.

Junior Division Student

Nolan Althof opens in a new window, Greensburg Central Catholic
Presented by ALCOSAN

Intermediate Division Student

Mason Roberts opens in a new window, Winchester Thurston School
Presented by NOVA Chemicals

Senior Division Student

Walter Vinoski opens in a new window, Duquesne University
Presented by Carnegie Mellon University

Honorable Mentions:

  • Champion for STEM Equity – Matt’s Maker Space and New Castle Area School District
  • Innovation – McGowan Institute
  • Champion for Sustainability – Mary Ellen Ramage, CONNECT
  • Corporate Leadership – David Holmberg, Highmark/Allegheny Health Network