• Closed Tuesdays through March 31.
    USS Requin is closed through March 1.

Combo ticket discounts will be applied when all items are in your cart at the end of checkout.

You may also like...

Mummies of the World
Mummies of the World
Rangos Giant Cinema
Rangos Giant Cinema
21+ Nights
21+ Nights

Carnegie Science Awards

Presenting Sponsor:
Eaton logo

10/2/2017 to 12/1/2017

Category Descriptions

Each year, Carnegie Science Center honors a select number of deserving educators, science/technology leaders, and organizations for their outstanding work in our region!

Below you will find descriptions of the 17+ award categories for researchers, scientists, innovators, educators, entrepreneurs, and students.

The Advanced Manufacturing and Materials Award recognizes accomplishments in the areas of manufacturing and materials processes which have led to significant business, economic, or societal benefits for the region.

The Corporate Innovation Award is given to an organization or representative of an organization that develops and encourages an environment that promotes innovation in science or technology. Our evaluators look for systems and policies that foster creativity and maximize the contributions of all individuals. Scoring criteria in past years have included the level and quantity of scientific innovation, organizational commitment to innovation, the impact on the reputation of the region, and realized and potential economic or employment benefit. Supplementary materials are welcome.

Educator Awards recognize innovation in science and technology education at each of the following four levels: Elementary Educator; Middle Level Educator; High School Educator; and University/Post-secondary Educator. Educators are recognized for innovation in inspiring students to understand, appreciate, and apply science and for the extent that these innovations are disseminated. Candidates must have at least three years teaching experience.

The Leadership in STEM Education Award recognizes an individual, team, or organization that demonstrates leadership in building literacy in science, technology, engineering and math.

The Leadership in Career and Technical Education Award recognizes an individual, team, or organization that demonstrates leadership in educating students in various technical and vocational subjects to prepare them with the skills and knowledge necessary to enter an occupation.

The University/Post-Secondary Student Award recognizes students working towards an associates, bachelors, masters, or doctoral degree and whose body of work demonstrates scientific advances through research, effectiveness in increasing the public awareness of the role of science or engineering to society, and inspiration of youth to consider career opportunities in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and/or mathematics).

The Emerging Female Scientist Award recognizes a female leader whose cutting-edge work inspires change in math, science, or technology. The awardee is generally at an independent stage of her career whose emerging impact is reflected in an upward career trajectory. As such, nominators may wish to comment on recent publications or projects that demonstrate this upward trajectory.

The Entrepreneur Awards recognize two entrepreneurs who have successfully commercialized research in science and technology to develop businesses and create jobs. Each award focuses on a different stage of the company life cycle:

  • The Start-Up Entrepreneur Award recognizes leadership in developing a promising innovation in an early-stage company.
  • The Entrepreneur Award recognizes demonstrated long-term success in a more mature organization.

The Environmental Award recognizes outstanding achievements in the fields of environmental protection and restoration that benefit the economy, health, and quality of life in our region.

The Information Technology Award recognizes innovation in the development and commercialization of an information technology-based solution resulting in significant business impact.

The Innovation in Energy Award recognizes the transformative growth of applied scientific research in regard to the discovery and development of new, cleaner energy technologies in our region.

The Life Sciences Award recognizes and honors scientific advances in new and innovative biomedical and life sciences endeavors.

The Science Communicator Award recognizes individual achievement or team collaboration in a body of communications or journalistic work, during the course of a year or longer, that presents science and technology news and issues via any medium, including new media.

Student Recognition at Carnegie Science Awards is based on judging consistent with the Pittsburgh Regional Science & Engineering Fair standards. Winners of the Annual Pittsburgh Regional Science and Engineering Fair are recognized in the following categories: Junior Division; Intermediate; and Senior Division.

You may also like... (scroll right)